A Song in Your Heart

“If I keep a green bough in my heart, then the singing bird will come.” ~ Chinese Proverb

I wake up every morning to tiny giggles as a wriggling warm bundle burrows its way to my side. Snuggling close and tight, I hear a soft excited whisper on my cheek, “Wake up Mama, it’s a wonderful day.”

My son still fuzzy from sleep, smiles as he greets the new day. He wakes up every morning full of great expectations. He sings loud and robust songs to welcome the fresh new day.

I lie in bed for a few more blessed minutes listening to one six-year old made-up words and funny lilting tunes. I feel my heart smile. I am content. I know all is well in the world.

I didn’t always wake up like this. Over the years, I became a grown-up and lost the joy of waking up. That sweet serenity we all used to have as children – refreshed like a flower at dawn waiting to greet the morning sun can sometimes over time become a faded bloom.

Our hearts are like magnets. It attracts what it has been preparing to receive. I believe if we live each day with joy, a whole new dimension of all that brings us joy opens up. If we live with dread in our hearts, life situations start to confirm that dread as a natural law of life.

If we go about life searching to find stones, stones are bound to turn up.

But if we seek for gems, we start to see gems everywhere. Ever noticed that when you’ve just learnt a new word, it suddenly pops up everywhere? Ever noticed that when you’re pregnant, suddenly the whole world is pregnant with you? How we see life is mirrored back to us.

I have learnt that to live from this principle is to trust in the goodness of Life beyond our own understanding. Beyond circumstances. It is to live from a place of perfect unruffled rest.

It is to believe even before we have received. It is to know that everything is already taken care of. It is to live like a child knowing that all her needs are met.

Making changes in life starts with the little things. And I was going to start changing how I wake up to a brand new day.

At the first rays of consciousness, even before my eyes opened, each morning the first words that I would focus on was this verse “Let each morn be better than its eve and each morrow richer than its yesterday.” And I promised to live by it daily. I reminded myself several times throughout the day. I had no idea how the day would turn out but I was going to make it the best day that I could anyway.

I focused to live one breath at a time.

I started this practice three years ago. Today, I marvel that I wake up like I did as a young girl. Clear headed. Best of all, my heart is calm. My heart sometimes even hums a little tune.

As the year slowly comes to an end, I cannot help but reflect on the past eleven months. I cannot help but be grateful for another season of faithfulness. Another year given as a gift.

What will 2013 be like? What will tomorrow bring? Where do you see yourself five years from now? What does the future hold? Where are the answers?

I do not know.

It does not matter.

I live only one day at a time.

I try to live it well.

May you hear a whisper first thing in the morning…”Wake up child. It’s a wonderful day.”

“I wanted a perfect ending. Now I’ve learned, the hard way, that some poems don’t rhyme, and some stories don’t have a clear beginning, middle and end. Life is about not knowing, having to change, taking the moment and making the best of it, without knowing what is going to happen next.

Delicious Ambiguity.” ~ Gilda Radner

Happy New Year and to the songs that our hearts will be singing!

I’m wrapping up for the holiday season and will be back after the New Year. All my love to you and your loved ones and may your hearts be prepared to receive all the blessings of life.